## **Honorary Membership Committee**

**Committee Members:** M. A. Mares, E. J. Heske (Chair), E. A. Lacey, R. S. Sikes, and D. A. Kelt.

## Mission:

The purpose of the Honorary Membership Committee is to present credentials of potential honorary members for consideration by the membership at the Annual Members' Meeting. Honorary Membership, which is the highest honor awarded by the American Society of Mammalogists, recognizes eminent mammalogists who have rendered "distinguished service to the science of mammalogy." The Honorary Membership Committee is composed of the five most recent past presidents and is chaired by the second-most senior member of that group. The committee welcomes nominations from ASM members, and may also propose or solicit nominations for prospective candidates. Nominations may be made to any committee member.

## **Information Items:**

- (1) The Committee received six nominations for potential new Honorary Members. After careful deliberation, two of the proposed nominees were selected for further consideration by the Board of Directors and members.
- (2) During the Members' Meeting, the committee will move to elect a candidate or candidates approved by the Board of Directors.
- (3) The Committee web page was updated, including better guidance for nominators regarding the scope of the award.
- (4) The Committee decided that beginning with this year, short paragraphs describing the merits of new Honorary Members along with a photo will be linked to the list of names on the website.

Action Items: None Respectfully submitted, E. J. Heske, Chair (eheske@unm.edu)