Jackson Award Committee

Committee Members: E. J. Finck, V. Hayssen, E. J. Heske, A. V. Linzey (Chair), D. A. Schlitter

Mission:

The Hartley H. T. Jackson Award was established in 1977 by the American Society of Mammalogists to honor individuals with long and outstanding service to mammalogy and to the Society. Service has usually been in the areas of committee membership, governance of the Society, editors of ASM publications, or work on special projects. The Jackson Award Committee solicits and evaluates nominations from the membership and recommends a nominee to the Board of Directors via the ASM President. In the event that no nominations are received, the Committee selects a nominee. The Award is presented formally at the closing social of the Annual Meeting.

Information Items:

(1) The Committee received two nominations for the 2022 Award.

(2) The Committee approved one of the nominations unanimously and forwarded it to President Lessa for approval by the Board of Directors. Announcement of the recipient of the Jackson Award will be made at the closing social. The Committee thanks the members who prepared the nominations.

(3) The 2021 Jackson Award was presented to Dr. Meredith J. Hamilton. Dr. Hamilton has labored long and well on behalf of the Society. Having served on numerous committees, her most significant contributions have been in the publications area (Associate Editor and Editor for Advertising for the Journal of Mammalogy, and Editor for Special Publications). For the past 16 years, she has been Editor of Mammalian Species, having shepherded over 200 accounts to completion. A more extensive summary of her contributions can be found on the Jackson Committee webpage on the Society website.

(4) The Committee asks members of the Society to consider nominating a member who has given long and outstanding service to the ASM. Information on the nominating process can be found on the Jackson Award Committee page on the ASM website or by contacting the Committee.

Action Items:

(1) The committee requests \$300 for the award plaque.

Respectfully submitted, Alicia V. Linzey, Chair (<u>alicialinzey@gmail.com</u>)