ad hoc Cameron Award Committee

Committee Members: Guy Cameron (non-voting), Gerardo Ceballos, Andi Kautt, Andrew McAdam, Rebecca Rowe, Nancy Solomon, Rob Swihart (Chair), Caitlin Wells

Mission:

The Guy N. Cameron Rodent Research award was established in 2019 to fund research on native rodents in the Americas with an emphasis on field research, and laboratory research that supports or augments field research. Support is intentionally broad, generally falling under the umbrella of ecology and behavior to reflect Guy's interests and numerous scholarly contributions. The Cameron Award Committee annually reviews and ranks applications and selects a deserving recipient in each of two categories: graduate student and postdoctoral applicant.

Information Items:

- (1) The committee currently has 7 voting members. Two past recipients of the Cameron postdoctoral award, Andi Kautt and Caitlin Wells, were added to the committee this year to assist with review of student applicants.
- (2) In Spring 2022, the committee received and evaluated 3 graduate student and no postdoctoral applications, a precipitous drop in numbers from last year. We encourage eligible graduate students and postdoctoral scientists to apply in 2023. Fortunately, overall quality of applications submitted to the committee remained high. The graduate student recipient will receive \$5,000 in support of research. The 2022 recipient of the Cameron Award in the graduate student category will be announced at the closing social and awards ceremony of the 101st annual meeting.

Action Items:

- (1) Budget request of \$5,000.00 for the 2023 graduate student recipient of the Cameron Award
- (2) Budget request of \$5,000.00 for the 2023 postdoctoral recipient of the Cameron Award

Respectfully submitted, Robert K. Swihart, Chair (rswihart@purdue.edu)