ad hoc Cameron Award Committee

Committee Members: Guy Cameron (non-voting), Gerardo Ceballos, M. Denise Dearing, Andrew McAdam, Rebecca Rowe, Nancy Solomon, Rob Swihart (Chair)

Mission:

The Guy N. Cameron Rodent Research award was established in 2019 to fund research on native rodents in the Americas with an emphasis on field research, and laboratory research that supports or augments field research. Support is intentionally broad, generally falling under the umbrella of ecology and behaviorto reflect Guy's interests and numerous scholarly contributions. The Cameron Award Committee reviews and ranks applications and selects a deserving recipient in each of two categories: graduate student and postdoctoral applicant.

Information Items:

(1) The committee currently has 6 voting members. Two new members were added this year, Andrew McAdam and Nancy Solomon.

(2) In Spring 2021, committee evaluated 15 graduate student and 3 postdoctoral applications. Overall quality of applications submitted to the committee was high. Multiple committee members evaluated each application, and all committee members evaluated finalists to select award winners. The graduate student and postdoctoral recipients will each receive \$5,000 to support their research. The 2021 recipient of the Cameron Award in each category of applicants will be announced at the awards banquet/closing social of the 100th annual meeting.

Action Items:

(1) Budget request of \$5,000.00 for the 2022 graduate student recipient of the Cameron Award

(2) Budget request of \$5,000.00 for the 2022 postdoctoral recipient of the Cameron Award

Respectfully submitted, Robert K. Swihart, Chair (rswihart@purdue.edu)